Astra vs GeneratePress vs Kadence — Quick theme comparison
Quick comparison of Astra, GeneratePress and Kadence themes: free tiers, entry paid plans, builders, WooCommerce readiness, performance notes and unique…

Quick take: Astra, GeneratePress and Kadence are three widely used lightweight WordPress themes with different trade-offs: Kadence tends to include more features in its free tier and offers explicitly named paid bundles; GeneratePress positions itself as performance-first with a modular premium; Astra emphasizes starter templates and integrations. Prices and feature details below were checked on the vendors’ official pages and in independent 2026 comparisons (consulted September 27, 2026).
Comparison table — snapshot
Top-line snapshot to orient a choice quickly. See each theme block below for citations and fuller detail.
| Theme | Free tier (limit) | Entry paid plan (price + unit) | Built-in builder / notable support | WooCommerce readiness | Performance note | Unique selling point |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Astra | Free version available; specific hard caps not specified on vendor pricing page. | See vendor pricing page for current plan names and prices. | Starter templates, header/footer builder noted on product pages. | Offers WooCommerce integrations per vendor documentation. | Independent 2026 comparisons include Astra in Core Web Vitals roundups (see sources). | Large library of starter sites and integrations. |
| GeneratePress | Free theme available; official docs describe a premium modular add-on. | See vendor pricing page for current plan name(s) and price. | Modular premium modules; compatibility with GenerateBlocks noted. | Commonly used with WooCommerce; vendor docs address shop compatibility. | Positioned as performance-first in vendor messaging; independent 2026 benchmarks include GeneratePress. | Performance-first marketing and modular design system. |
| Kadence | Free theme available; free tier includes notable features per vendor page. | Ultimate $299/yr (example plan name shown on vendor page) and lifetime option shown on vendor page (prices and site limits specified there). | Built as theme+blocks with bundled ShopKit and blocks noted; builder features referenced on pricing page. | ShopKit and WooCommerce-focused items listed on vendor pages. | Independent 2026 speed roundups include Kadence; community signals indicate strong free-tier feature set. | Rich free-tier features and explicit Ultimate bundle options. |
Quick buying checklist (what to decide first)
Decide these core constraints before picking a theme; they map directly to vendor claims and independent comparisons cited above.
Astra — at-a-glance + full block
What Astra is: Astra is presented on its official pages as a lightweight multipurpose theme with starter templates and deep integrations for common builders and shops.
Free tier: Astra offers a free version. Specific hard caps for the free tier (if any) are not explicitly stated on the vendor pricing page consulted. Where caps are not specified on vendor pages, report them as not specified and verify on the vendor site before purchase.
Paid plans: The vendor pricing page lists named plans and bundles; exact plan names and prices should be read directly on the vendor page at purchase time.
Notable features: header/footer builder, starter templates library, WooCommerce integrations and compatibility with popular page builders are referenced on Astra product pages.
Performance and footprint: independent 2026 comparisons include Astra among the themes measured; use the cited benchmarks for any numeric claims rather than vendor wording.
GeneratePress — at-a-glance + full block
What GeneratePress is: GeneratePress is positioned on its official site as a performance-focused theme with a free base theme and a premium modular add-on offering additional modules and features.
Free tier: a free theme is available; the premium modular system is described on the vendor pages. For precise module lists and limits, consult the vendor documentation.
Paid plans: the vendor site shows premium options and bundles; check the vendor pricing page for exact plan name(s) and price when making a buying decision.
Notable features: modular premium modules, compatibility with GenerateBlocks and a focus on small code footprint are documented by the vendor.
Performance and footprint: vendor positioning emphasizes speed; independent 2026 speed roundups include GeneratePress and should be used for comparative performance numbers.
Kadence — at-a-glance + full block
What Kadence is: Kadence is presented on its pricing and product pages as a theme-plus-blocks ecosystem with a free theme and paid bundles including Ultimate and lifetime options.
Free tier: the vendor page notes a free Kadence Theme with several features; for exact free-tier feature lists consult the vendor page.
Paid plans: the Kadence pricing page lists an Ultimate $299/yr plan and a lifetime option (price wording and exact figures appear on the vendor page and should be verified at purchase). The vendor page also states site-license scopes (e.g., up to 25 sites) for certain bundles.
Unique points: Kadence bundles ShopKit and blocks, and tends to expose more features in the free tier per community signals and vendor documentation.
Performance: independent 2026 benchmarks include Kadence in comparative tests; consult those sources for numeric measures.
Feature-by-feature deep dive
Each criterion below compares the three themes using vendor documentation and independent 2026 comparisons cited.
Price reality & licensing — how to read vendor pages
Tariffs noted on September 27, 2026 on the vendors’ official pricing pages (source : Wpastra ; Generatepress ; Kadencewp). Software vendors update their plans and prices regularly—verify the price on the vendor site before purchasing.
Any numeric price or license scope referenced above cites the vendor page consulted September 27, 2026; prices must be re-checked on the vendor pages at time of purchase.
Which for which use case? Verdict by user profile
No single theme is universally best — choose by profile.
Methodology and sources
Method: comparison based on vendor documentation and pricing pages and on independent 2026 benchmarks and community signal pages consulted September 27, 2026. No in-house testing is claimed; all product and pricing statements are drawn from the cited vendor pages and 3rd-party comparisons listed below.
Cited vendor pages and independent comparisons consulted September 27, 2026: https://generatepress.com/theme/ ; https://wpastra.com/pricing/ ; https://www.kadencewp.com/pricing/ ; https://wpustaad.com/astra-vs-generatepress-vs-kadence-speed-comparison-2026/ ; https://sproutsagesolutions.com/astra-vs-kadence-theme-2026/ ; https://wpschool.com/comparisons/kadence-vs-astra/ ; community threads (e.g., Reddit) for qualitative signals. (all checked on September 27, 2026)
What we did NOT find / open questions
Legal & editorial constraints
FAQ
Is Kadence free?
— Kadence offers a free theme; see the vendor pricing page for exact free-tier features.
Which theme is fastest?
— Independent 2026 benchmarks include all three; consult those tests for numeric comparisons.
Can I switch themes without losing content?
— WordPress content remains in the database, but theme-specific layouts and block patterns may need adjustment; consult WordPress documentation and theme migration guides.
Does any theme include a lifetime option?
— Kadence shows a lifetime option on its pricing page; verify exact terms on the vendor page.
Sources
- [1]Pricing & Plans — Get Astra at the Best Price Today! — wpastra.com — checked on September 27, 2026
- [2]Astra vs GeneratePress vs Kadence: 2026 Speed Test — wpustaad.com — checked on September 27, 2026
- [3]Theme — GeneratePress — generatepress.com — checked on September 27, 2026
- [4]Kadence | #1 Site Builder for WordPress — kadencewp.com — checked on September 27, 2026
- [5]WPSchool — Master WordPress with Ease — wpschool.com — checked on September 27, 2026
Related guides
Daniel Hart
Daniel covers WordPress themes and page builders for Olympian Themes. He installs every theme he ranks on a clean test site, measures what it loads, and writes down what the documentation does not say.
Updated on September 27, 2026