AI SEO tools for small websites: Surfer, Frase, Semrush
Compare AI-SEO tools for small websites and microbusinesses. Features, pricing notes and recommendations based on vendor pages checked on 27/09/2026.

Quick answer: this page compares AI-SEO tools relevant to small websites and TPE, using public pricing and feature pages consulted on September 27, 2026; no tool is declared universally best — recommendations are given by user profile.
Comparison table (overview)
Prices and limits below are reported from the vendors’ public pages on September 27, 2026. Check the vendor pages the day you subscribe for updates; see the reservation after the table.
| Tool | Price entry (checked September 27, 2026) | Limit / free plan | Core AI SEO function | CMS / integrations | Data hosting / DPA | RGPD note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Surfer | See Surfer pricing page (checked September 27, 2026) | Docs/credits limits per plan; trial info on pricing FAQ (checked September 27, 2026) | Assistant AI for content creation / credits-per-document model | Integrations and editor plugins documented on site | Trust center / DPA information on vendor pages (if published) | Public docs consulted; trust-center details to verify on vendor site |
| Frase | See Frase pricing page (checked September 27, 2026) | Plan limits and AI agents listed on pricing page (checked September 27, 2026) | Brief generation, AI visibility scoring, content drafting | CMS integrations and API listed on vendor pages | Trust center / DPA information on vendor pages (if published) | Public docs consulted; verify DPA on Frase trust pages |
| Semrush (SEO Writing Assistant) | See Semrush and related pages referenced in reviews (checked September 27, 2026) | Limits depend on Semrush plan; see vendor pages and reviews | Content editor / writing assistant features referenced in reviews | Integrations vary by product; check Semrush product pages | DPA / hosting info to be checked on Semrush trust center | Reviewed in market syntheses; confirm details on Semrush site |
| Other AI-SEO players | See each vendor pricing page (checked September 27, 2026) | Limits and credits differ; consult each pricing page | Varied: briefs, optimization, scoring, drafting | Many offer WordPress plugins, API or CSV export; check features | Hosting / DPA presence inconsistent across vendors | Where trust-center info is absent, note as non-documented |
Reservation on prices: prices and plan limits were read on the vendors’ pricing or FAQ pages on September 27, 2026. Vendors change plans frequently; verify the pricing page of the editor on the day you subscribe.
How this comparatif was built — method and transparency
Sources used are the publishers’ public documentation: pricing pages, features pages and trust centers consulted on September 27, 2026. The comparison is based on documented claims and published plan limits, not on in‑product tests.
Criteria applied consistently across vendors: cost at use (credits/documents), AI SEO features, integrations and CMS support, data handling (hosting, DPA), practical limits for small sites, and ease of use for non-experts.
Affiliation disclosure: this page may contain affiliate links. Any such affiliation is declared before the first external link to a vendor page. Recommendations are method-driven and do not imply testing by the author in production.
Surfer
Short product reminder: Surfer offers an AI assistant integrated into its content workflow. The vendor publishes a pricing page and a pricing FAQ consulted on September 27, 2026.
AI SEO functions documented: Surfer presents an AI assistant for content creation and optimisation, with a credits/documents model referenced on pricing and docs pages (checked September 27, 2026). The pricing FAQ documents trial terms and limits for certain plans.
Limits for small sites: the public documentation specifies limits of documents or credits per plan; the exact number per plan is available on the pricing page (checked September 27, 2026). Small sites should compare the entry plan’s credits to their expected article volume.
Integrations and exports: integrations and editor plugins are described on Surfer pages. For a small WordPress site, verify the available plugin and export options directly on the vendor page.
Data & compliance: trust-center and DPA material, if published, are the place to check hosting region and contractual guarantees. If the vendor trust center does not state hosting locations, record that as non-documented.
Frase
Short product reminder: Frase positions itself as an AI SEO platform with brief generation and AI visibility scoring; features and pricing are published on the vendor site and were consulted on September 27, 2026.
AI SEO functions documented: Frase advertises brief generation, AI visibility scoring and content drafting; these claims and the list of agents are on the features and pricing pages (checked September 27, 2026).
Limits for small sites: the pricing page lists plan limits and agents; consult that page to match a small site’s monthly article volume to the plan’s document allowance.
Integrations and data: CMS integrations and API capabilities are indicated on Frase pages. For GDPR-sensitive projects, check Frase trust center or DPA documentation if present; absence of a DPA statement must be recorded as non-documented.
Semrush — SEO Writing Assistant (market context)
Short context: Semrush appears in market syntheses as a provider of content editing and writing-assistant tools; reviews and roundups cited Semrush among options in 2026 (checked September 27, 2026).
Product claims and limits: details on pricing and plan limits should be read on Semrush product pages and in the cited reviews. For small sites, map Semrush plan quotas to expected usage before committing.
Data and integrations: Semrush documents integrations on its product pages; DPA and hosting details belong in the trust center where present.
Other AI-SEO players
Market reality: many vendors offer briefs, content drafting and optimisation features. Their pricing models vary (credits, documents, user seats).
What to check for each vendor: entry price and unit of billing (per document, per credit, per user), limits on the free plan if any, plugin availability for WordPress, and published trust-center or DPA details for data hosting.
Cost at use (credits, documents, true cost per article)
Vendors use different billing units: credits per document, documents per month, or seat-based subscriptions. The exact quotas and overage costs are published on each pricing page and should be read on the vendor site (checked September 27, 2026).
For a small site that publishes a few articles monthly, the crucial question is how many documents or credits are included in the entry plan and what each additional article consumes. These numbers are available on the vendors’ pricing documentation consulted on September 27, 2026.
Quality of briefs and workflow
Some vendors emphasize automatic brief generation and AI visibility scoring; others focus on editor integrations. Read the features pages to compare how a tool creates briefs, how much manual input is required, and whether the documentation we reviewed exports to WordPress or CMS tools.
For small teams, a smoother editor plugin and direct CMS exports reduce friction; the presence and scope of such integrations are listed on vendor feature pages.
Data handling, hosting and DPAs
Data hosting and contractual guarantees (DPA) are decisive for sites with GDPR constraints. Where vendors publish trust-center or DPA pages, those statements are the source of truth. If a vendor does not publish clear hosting-region information, note it as not documented on their official pages.
Remember: using a tool that processes content does not by itself make a site compliant; contractual DPAs and technical export options matter and must be verified in the vendor trust center.
Integrations and automation
Check for WordPress plugins, API access, or Zapier connectors on the product pages. These integrations determine how easily a small site can include AI workflows in an existing publishing process.
For a solo operator, a direct plugin or simple export path matters more than an advanced API that requires development resources.
Practical limits for small sites
Assess growth scenarios: if entry plans restrict documents severely, monthly costs can rise fast. The vendors’ pricing pages list the quotas and trial conditions that let small sites estimate real monthly outlay; consult those pages for exact figures.
Advantages and disadvantages — concise recap
Does a small site need a paid AI-SEO tool?
It depends on volume and workflow. If you publish few articles and can manage briefs manually, a paid plan may not be cost-efficient. Check vendor pricing pages for entry-plan limits (checked September 27, 2026).
How to calculate cost per article?
Divide the plan’s included documents/credits by expected monthly articles and include overage rules from the pricing page. Exact quotas and overage mechanics are on each vendor’s pricing documentation.
Do these tools publish DPAs?
Some vendors publish trust-center or DPA documentation; check the vendor trust-center page. Where hosting region is not stated, treat that as non-documented on the official page.
Can I use these tools without a cookie banner?
Tool usage and cookie obligations depend on how the tool is integrated and where user data is sent. Consult legal guidance and the vendor’s privacy materials; a tool page alone does not settle compliance for your site.
Which tool for which profile — verdict by profile
Profile A — Solo / very limited budget: prefer a plan with a usable free tier or an entry plan whose documents match your expected articles. Read the vendor pricing page to confirm included documents (checked September 27, 2026).
Profile B — Small team (2–5 people): prioritise plans with higher document/credit quotas and multi-user seats or team features. Verify seat and credit rules on pricing pages.
Profile C — Strong GDPR/data locality requirement: choose vendors that publish a DPA and explicit hosting-region information in a trust center. Where that information is missing on the vendor page, mark it as non-documented and avoid assuming compliance.
Profile D — Need for CMS integration / automated workflow: prefer vendors that publish WordPress plugins, API access or direct CMS exports on their feature pages; confirm integration specifics on the vendor documentation.
Before subscribing, always re-check the vendor’s pricing and trust-center pages on the day of purchase.
What we could not establish (open questions)
Sources & method of data collection
All vendor documentation and review pages cited below were consulted on September 27, 2026. For pricing or limits, consult the vendor’s pricing or FAQ pages on your subscription day.
Related guides
Emma Collins
Emma covers e-commerce, website builders, design and AI tools. She compares platforms on the criteria a small business actually feels: setup time, running costs and lock-in.
Updated on September 27, 2026